Me and Mine

My name is Liesbeth or Lies for short and I grew up in Middelburg, The Netherlands.

At age 21 I married a Canadian (with a Dutch background) and immigrated to Canada.
We live outside a very small village in southwestern Ontario. Even though I’ve been here since 1977 I still feel very Dutch and go back “home” at least once a year to visit family and friends and eat some of my favourite foods that I miss here (stroopwafels, drop, krokets, salted herring!)

My husband Morris was also born in the Netherlands but moved to Canada when he was 6 months old. We met in 1974 when he was visiting his Dutch family. We were married 3 years later.
He worked at the Ford Motor Company for over 30 years and took an early retirement package at age 55. He loves fishing and working with plants and trees in the yard. In the winter his game is curling.

We have 2 daughters.
Malinda is a registered nurse at the oncology unit of a large hospital.
She is married to Dan and they have a son Aiden and a daughter Ava.
Michelle is a registered massage therapist and has her own clinic.
She is married to Ezra and they have a daughter Hazel and a son Felix.

I learned how to knit and crochet when I was about 6 years old so I feel like I have been doing it my whole life. There is not a time where I don't have at least one project on the go and mostly several at the same time. I sometimes feel there is not enough time in the day to make all the things I want to make. You can see some of the finished items on my Crafts page and you can also find me on FacebookInstagram and Ravelry.

At the same time that I learned how to knit and crochet I learned how to read and that has been my other great passion. I can not imagine my life without it. Ever since I discovered eBooks I have been reading on an electronic device, as far back as the old PalmPilot I used to have and now on my iPhone/iPad. Although I still love the look and feel of actual paper books, it just doesn't compete with the convenience of being able to carry every book you have on one small e-reader (no need to fill a suitcase with 4 or 5 books when going on a trip).

My other hobby started a little later in life, around age 35.
Ever since we bought our first computer I have been hooked. I call myself a self-taught computer expert.
In 2017 I bought myself a MacBook, which is a whole new learning experience after more than 25 years on Windows.
To keep myself busy (besides doing crafts) I do both hardware and software installations and other tech support for family and friends.
I sometimes help out at Michelle's clinic, mostly for computer related work.